Lesson Learned: Choose Your Airline Wisely

My Fulbright adventure started off as fun as you could imagine…. Although I was fully packed two days prior to departure, I still ended up pulling an all-nighter before I left. Old habits die hard? Of course it didn’t help that it was Day Light Savings’ annual Spring Forward. Either way, there were many little details that I left for the last minute that took far longer than they should’ve.. and for some odd reason I wasn’t allowed to print my boarding pass at home. I was convinced they had flagged me since I only had a one way ticket to Panama. My flight was through United Airlines, which was the cheapest option at the time AND got me to Panama by early afternoon. It seemed like the best option so I wouldn’t inconvenience the Department Head of the University who was picking me up. But although the price was right…it came with a catch.

My flight was scheduled to depart from Baltimore at 6AM, and the check-in booths opened at 4AM. Sure enough, the McWilliams Clan (including Prescott) arrived just about on time to get me through, only to find that I was still denied access to my boarding pass. Are. You. Kidding. Me.

no time for this memeThey weren’t joking. I was definitely flagged. Official Fulbright documents at the ready, we had to wait for someone from the airline to come over and help…  Finally we got the attention of an attendant nearby, explained the situation, but found out that I would not be allowed to board the plane without a return ticket. What the what?

I was already cutting it close time-wise – after waiting in line, and waiting for the airline attendant to get to us – I only had 50 minutes until my flight was ready for take off! Perhaps I’m getting more emotional at my ripe age of 22, or perhaps it was sleep depravation…who’s to say? But as the musical prophet Chris Martin proclaimed – every teardrop came like a waterfall.

Why me memeIn a perfect world, I would’ve booked my return ticket already; however, my desired return (dec 18) was too far in advance for me to book a return flight. Even so, apparently United risks getting fined over $10,000 if they let me fly to the country without proof of a return ticket… Sounds a bit fishy, but I didn’t have much time for speculation. At least the tears played well in my favor. The airline attendant got a lot nicer after that, made sure I got the least expensive, fully-refundable ticket, and even gave my mom a Guest Pass to walk with me to the gate. No expedite through security though, but thankfully the plane knew I was coming and were waiting for me. Of course the security line was absurdly long for 5:45 in the morning; it went down a hallway towards the restrooms. What are all you people doing here?! Aren’t you supposed to be in bed?

power-walking through the airport #standard

power-walking through the airport #standard

Regardless, it all worked out. I got some exercise in via power-walking towards the gate, plus I got to kiss my mom goodbye before getting on the plane. Sure enough, they were waiting for me, but thankfully I still had room for my carryon! In case you’re wondering, customs didn’t give one flying *uck about proof of a return ticket. They thought it was great that I was a student teacher and put me in the system for 180 days (the maximum stay for a tourist visa). 0 issues… Thanks United. Turns out Duncan and Kaley both flew American Airlines with one-way tickets and didn’t run into any issues. According to the Embassy it just depends on the airline.

• • •  • • •  • • •

At least I had some wonderful views on the way down! I lucked out on my seating choice.

11019410_10152856858397869_3935244696729406788_n

• • •  • • •  • • •

flight3  flight9

 • • •  • • •  • • •

flight4  10388179_10152856859922869_9030628490685199989_n


The views and information presented in this blog are my own and do not represent the Fulbright Program or the US Department of State.

Leave a comment